< Back To Leaders

Jan Lundberg

Jan Lundberg, Board of Directors, TransCelerate – Clinical Development

Jan Lundberg

Executive Vice President of Science and Technology, Eli Lilly & Co.

Jan M. Lundberg, PhD, is Executive Vice President for Science and Technology and President of Lilly Research Laboratories (LRL). He is also a member of the company’s executive committee. 

Dr. Lundberg joined Eli Lilly and Company January, 2010, with responsibility for Research and the Development Center of Excellence. Prior to assuming his position at Lilly, Dr. Lundberg served as Global Head of Discovery Research at AstraZeneca for ten years and was a member of the senior executive team. He was involved with numerous candidate drug nominations, development projects and support for marketed products.  
After his medical education and receiving his PhD, Dr. Lundberg served as Professor at the Department of Pharmacology, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden. Dr. Lundberg has authored over 500 publications of original articles in international peer-reviewed journals and is listed as one of the highly cited authors by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). His work has focused on cell signaling in integrated systems using multiple mediators (peptides, purines, and nitric oxide) with translational applications to nervous system, endocrine, inflammation and cardiovascular areas. This research has been highly recognized and has received several awards. He has also been appointed as Honorary Doctor at the Pharmaceutical Faculty, Uppsala University (2006). 
Dr. Lundberg is the co-founder of a biotech diagnostic company (Aerocrine AB).  
Dr. Lundberg has served on several committees which include Chairman, PhD and post doc programs at the Karolinska Institute, Evaluation Committee for the Swedish Medical Research Council, Executive Advisory Board, the Swedish Medical Products Agency Registration of New Drugs (part of EMEA), and EFPIA Research head group generating the Innovative Medicines Initiative (IMI), a major public private partnership with the European Union. He served on the board of Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) and PhRMA’s Science and Regulatory Committee from 2010-2013. He is currently a board member of the PhRMA Foundation, TransCelerate Biopharma, Inc. and BioCrossroads. 

Translate »

Stay Connected to Transcelerate.